lovely clients

My clients are really, truly amazing people. One of the aspects of the meal delivery I’m most proud of is how most of my clients have been with me for years, and that so many of them are friends or relatives of each other. It’s so nourishing (a pun!) to cook for people who really get what I’m doing. One of my most longstanding clients is Pam Spritzer,* who has been getting the meals since way back when I used to do the deliveries myself, 6 or so years ago. She’s been so kind as I’ve made so, so many mistakes both on the cooking and business ends.

I remember her doorman as the bright spot to those very difficult Tuesdays spent navigating Manhattan traffic in the dark days before I had such great delivery people. He always had last week’s cooler bag in one hand and a huge smile on his face, making the tricky delivery on a very busy avenue super easy. That reminds me: I should remember to tuck some treats into the cooler bags for the amazing doorman all around NYC who help us make the deliveries so great. (Except for you, Mr. 91st Street. You know who you are, you who will not let us leave the bag with you because “it might be a bomb” even though we’ve been delivering there for years and years. You won’t even call the client for us! I don’t understand you.)

Anyway, Pam just emailed me this about this week’s meals:

Dear Lagusta,
I just want to report that the artichokes are sublime, and the fiddleheads are a beautiful touch. The feijoada is as wonderfully robust as I remembered it, and naturally I love the hot sauce.
Full of appreciative admiration,
Pam

Twelve hours ago I was making meals for everyone (I work late, yes), and now it’s so nice to be sitting here at home, thinking about everyone tucking into their lunches and hopefully loving what they’re eating.

*When I asked if I could post this online, not using her name, she said: “It would be my pleasure. I don’t even mind if you use my name, as I am happy to be identified as an enthusiastic fan of your food and philosophy.” Aww!

Leave a Reply

