this week’s meals!

Hello Samuel Pepys!

(I have started saying “Hello Samuel Pepys!” instead of my default “hello peeps!” when greeting people. I never used to say “hello peeps” on this here blog, but “Hello Samuel Pepys”  really only makes sense in print [and let’s admit, even in print—actually, pixels!!—it’s a tenuous jump to say it makes sense], so maybe that will be my new greeting around these parts.)

I think I was so sad about seemingly losing the little card with last week’s photos on it (also a lot of great chocolate photos, dang) that I didn’t take a lot of photos of this week’s meals…but I think I’m pretty much over the loss by now and life as we know it will continue apace until one wonderful day when I dig into some nook or cranny in a random totebag and there’s a teeny little 4 gb card with some lovely photos on it.

Thus, here is the small collection of photos of this week’s (quickly becoming last week’s) meals:

Mushroom ragout ingredients: local oysters, shiitakes, and dried porcinis--yum!

OK, what is the deal with those little fat tubes of premade polenta you can buy in the grocery store? Are they tasty? I don't get them. This is how my polenta starts--for the mushroom ragout dish, I mix local polenta with fresh-ground buckwheat groats. You can really make a polenta-type porridge with any nice grains, if you grind them up a bit in a spice grinder then cook them slowly with olive oil, and some sea salt. So homey and nice, a world away from polenta tubes!

Pan-roasted green beans and yellow romano beans with coconut, mustard greens, and a whole lotta yum.

Udon noodles before they were udon noodles.

Udon! OK, I made it sort of cheating by using the fettuccine attachment of the pasta machine, but it doesn't taste like Italian pasta, because it has no semolina. It's a springy, thick udon noodle.

Homemade udon noodles with yuzu dipping sauce and local veggies

Oh my. Look at these beauties!

baby bok choy. The nice thing about fall is the beautiful mirror of produce that we get from what was available in the spring. The greens get more juicy and tender and lose any summery toughness, until they gradually fade away.

French lentil salad with preserved lemons, tiny little red onions, maroon carrots, and celery.

Baby turnips for the homemade noodles.

Most likely the last week of summer squash. Bittersweet, for sure.

When is soup soup? When the liquid is added? When it's eaten? Is it soup now, when the carrots and beets are being sauteed? These are the things I think about when cooking.

Leave a Reply

