It’s going to be a beautiful week

Lettuce from Taliaferro Farms that goes into the salad mix!

Hello eaters of the world!

Is it just me or (except for tornadoes in Brooklyn and the continuing and endless horrors that we are constantly subjecting ourselves to) has it been a great week?

Well, it’s been a great week in my life. I recently did some big business reorganizing and it’s really putting me on the sunny side of the street. It’s nothing that will be visible to my customers and clients, just some behind-the-scenes tweaks to make everything run a bit more smoothly for you and me. The change of seasons seems like a good time to step back and reevaluate a bit, and I’m really thankful I did.

Thus, it is with renewed vigor and excitement that I present to you the week’s meals!

Oh, and also: I put the meals for the rest of 2010 (what on earth?? Has this year sped by, or what?) on the website here. Please note also the weeks of no deliveries coming up.

For this Tuesday’s delivery, here’s what’s on tap:

  • Szechuan peanut noodles with ground tempeh and scallions: Szechuan peanut noodles are pretty much my favorite meal in the world. Once I ate them for pretty much a year straight. I remember my partner’s sister came over to visit once and I mixed up a big batch of peanut noodles, then she came to visit nine or so months later, and I made another batch of peanut noodles. “Do you only eat peanut noodles?” she asked. Well, pretty much. So, it’s not that I want to brag, but I have perfected this dish. My mouth is actually watering right now.
  • Fresh summer rolls with herbs and homegrown edible flowers: the perfect complement to the peanut noodles, crunchy and cool and fresh and light. I think all the edible flowers in my garden are pretty much over, but I’ll go hunting around for some nasturtiums and borage and whatnot and see what turns up…
  • Fresh corn tamales with chiles, beans and tomotillo salsa: Tamales!!! That’s all that needs to be said, really. Except that these freeze well!
  • Black bean salad with lime and cilantro: Tangy and fresh.
  • Vegetable polenta napoleons: a big Italianish meal of meaty mushrooms, fresh tomato sauce, garlicky greens, and polenta!
  • White bean-rosemary purée: Which can be heated up like a sauce and eaten with the napoleons, or can be used as a dip for just about anything.
  • Soup: Hubbard squash and apple soup with smoky chipotle peppers: Spicy and smooth.
  • Salad dressing: Lime, cilantro, and pumpkin seed oil vinaigrette: We can’t seem to get enough of that amazing pumpkin seed oil, so here’s a nice dressing featuring it. It’s based on the dressing for the stuffed tofu pockets that I make a couple times of year, so if you like that dish, you’ll definitely like this dressing.

One thought on “It’s going to be a beautiful week

Leave a Reply

