Upcoming meals, October 26 delivery: Oktoberfest!

What a beautiful week we’ve got coming up. Let’s get right to it:

  • Oktoberfest dinner: tempeh sauerbraten-style with spaetzle and squash: homemade spaetzle, tangy and extra delicious because they’re made with my 30-year-old sourdough starter (I started making it when I was two years old, yep.), as well as a lush, complex, gingery, winey sauerbraten sauce, homemade chickpea tempeh and roasted squash.
  • Braised red cabbage with apples: fall on the plate, with local cabbage and apples!
  • Seitan bourguignon with green vegetables: A real old-fashioned meal, except, you know…better.
  • Mashed potatoes with scallions and horseradish: it’s potato season, yep!
  • Thai-style fall vegetables with braised tofu: a light Thai curry with market veggies.
  • Curry-scented mushrooms: my sous chef Maresa is obsessed with this dish, she’s been waiting for it to come on the menu for months. Beautiful mushrooms + a whisper of light curry powder + a hint of garlic + a shot of lemon juice + a bit of cilantro for color and lightness.
  • Soup: Malaysian laksa soup with rice vermicelli: I feel like every week I say that the week’s soup is my favorite soup, but I just want to say that this is my most favorite soup ever. I first had laksa when I was following my sweetheart around on tour in Australia (the band he works with had an Australian tour, and I tagged along). I had just broken my foot in Melbourne when I tripped and fell down a staircase in a dark music venue, and simultaneously badly needed my wisdom teeth out, so I spent most of the trip in a wheelchair (lots of fun when you’re flying every day) searching every pharmacy on the continent for ever-stronger aspirin. I came across this magical Malaysian noodle soup in an airport in Sydney, and it was the best thing that had happened to me in weeks (except for penguin island, that was so amazing it made all my pains disappear while I was there). Unfortunately, our plane started boarding almost immediately after I got it (and since I was in a wheelchair I had to board first), so I gulped the soup down and have been trying to recreate the flavor ever since. It’s a weird combination of garlic, ginger, peanuts, coconut, dill, noodles, scallions, and tofu, and trust me, you’ll like it. Even if you’re not in a wheelchair in Australia with an incredible toothache.
  • Salad dressing: Olive tapenade and basil dressing: a combination of pesto and tapenade–how could that ever be wrong?

I’ve got two open spots for this week, so just email me if you’d like to order!

 

 

Leave a Reply

