brunch: french toast + potatoes and onions

I had a few beloved out-of-town visitors up to see the gorgeous upstate New York sights this weekend. They came at a perfect time, because I’m trying to distract myself from stressing out about this BIG GIANT HUGE INSANE thing happening tomorrow (check back here tomorrow for the update!!!!), so I decided to distract myself the best way I know how: cooking.

I decided to make a little brunch for us.

At first it was just going to be this french toast that I make almost every time I have sleepover guests–especially ones that aren’t vegan, because I enjoy how much nonvegans tell me that it tastes like “real” french toast. But then I realized I had a whole bunch of potatoes sprouting away in the back room at work, and I needed to test out some matzo candy for work (coming soon!) and I had just made a truly giant pot of beans, and off we were.

I know it breaks all laws of food blogging to not include a photo with a recipe, but I think my pal Cesilie took a whole bunch of photos with her fancy camera, so I’ll update this post when I get ’em. For now I wanted to share my somewhat of a work-in-progress (aren’t they all, always?) french toast recipe. Let me know what you think!

Oh, and after much trial and error, I think I’ve perfected my taters & onions recipe. Here goes: parboil the potatoes. This is the key. Cut them into bite-sized pieces, boil in salted water (or roast, in their jackets!) until just barely tender but not as soft as you’d want them to eat them, then caramelize a bunch of onions and toss the potatoes with them, add a few good pinches of paprika/smoked paprika/chile powder/chili powder (your pick), sea salt, lots of pepper, and lots of olive oil. Then roast at 400°F or so until they are deliciously crispy and browned. Today I tossed them with some amazing roasted Hatch chiles I had, and…oh man, so good.

As was the:

FRENCH TOAST

1/4  cup chickpea flour. Bob’s Red Mill makes a chickpea flour, and it’s also available (usually cheaper) in Indian markets, where it might be labeled “besan” or “gram flour.” You could also use rice flour, tapioca starch, or egg replacer powder, but I like chickpea the best

1 cup coconut milk or Soy Nog. Around the holidays when Soy Nog is available, I use that, otherwise I’m a coco milk fan.

Peasant bread, sourdough bread, French or Italian bread, thickly sliced. Basically any kind of nice spongy bread with a relatively open crumb (not a super artisanal baguette that’s more air than bread, for example). Not a bread with a tight crumb, like 11-grain, or a fake bread, like Wonderbread or anything.)

1/4 teaspoon eggnog flavoring, optional

2 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon nutritional yeast

Nutmeg to taste

Cinnamon to taste, 1/2 teaspoon or so

Coconut oil or grape seed oil, for frying

For serving: powdered sugar, maple syrup, coconut cream (I use my little iSi whip to make instant coconut milk whipped cream and it is AMAZING.), strawberries, etc.

  1. Whisk together all ingredients except bread and oil. (I like to do this the night before. The batter is smoother if allowed to sit overnight, too.)
  2. Dip bread in liquid, then fry in hot oil until golden brown on both sides.
  3. Serve with maple syrup, coco cream, powdered sugar, etc.

I just realized I have no notes on how much it makes. Hmm, maybe 8 pieces or so? I’ll let you know the next time I make it!

One thought on “brunch: french toast + potatoes and onions

  1. Pingback: Found This | Randal Putnam Loves to Pedal

Leave a Reply

