July 2010 Chocolate of the Month: Rosemary Sea Salt Caramels

For posterity and record keeping, I’m making a blog post with each Chocolate of the Month as the month ends (or, in this case, about a year later).

The caramels! What can I say about these, except that I’m so intensely proud of them? They were so well-received that we had to keep selling them year round, and they quickly became one of our best sellers. Now I’m so pleased to be donating half of the sales of each box to Friends of Animals!

Here’s what I wrote about them at the time, and here is the Facebook photo album with glorious photos of the caramels:

This spring, I had a little party at my house. I invited a lovely collection of chefs, farmers, foodies, gadflies, and just generally fascinating people over. In addition to wanting to socialize, I had a sneaky ulterior motive: getting feedback on some of the new chocolates I’ve been working on for the Chocolates of the Month. A lemon thyme and strawberry truffle, we decided, wasn’t amazing, and after an entire overhaul, it became June’s Strawberry Almond Creams.

I was talking about flavor pairings with my pal Erin, who runs a farm just down the road from me and is also a consummate foodie. We were talking about how much we love salty chocolates, and she suggested rosemary as a good pairing with sea salt, chocolate, and caramel. Fireworks went off in my head, and I filed that little gem away until I could spend a few hours in the Lagusta’s Luscious kitchen. A few days later I was caramelizing sugar and measuring fleur de sel salt, and here we are, with what just might be my favorite thing I’ve ever made:

Rosemary sea salt caramels!

Rich and buttery (but entirely vegan) caramel infused with super fancy sea salt and enrobed in dark chocolate, garnished with a touch of seriously fancy sea salt.

Leave a Reply

