Summertime and the eating is easy!

So clichéd, I know, but I couldn’t resist!

This week’s meals are summertime to the max, and I couldn’t be more excited.

English peas, still snap peas, the first of the summer squash, baby carrots, spinach, man oh man! I have to moderate my excitement so I don’t start running around in circles like a Tasmanian devil (which they really do! I saw this dude in Tasmania doing it. So weird.).

(An ultra zoom lens was necessary to take this without getting my face bitten off...)

Here’s the agenda for the week to come, and a photo of me feeding a wallaby in Australia, just for kicks.

  • Summer squash tart with olives and oregano: a savory tart! Phyllo dough, caramelized onions, garden herbs, and of course summer squash.
  • Braised cauliflower with Kalamata vinaigrette
  • Artichoke, olive, and preserved lemon tagine with chermoula and harissa sauces: probably one of the best meals I make. No joke.
  • Roasted Hakurei turnips with lavender
  • Gourmet sloppy joes with homemade focaccia bread: yep, firing up the pizza oven on the summer solstice weekend. The bread is worth it!
  • Mixed lettuces and roasted bitter greens with pink peppercorn-tarragon “ranch” dressing
  • Soup: S´chee (Russian cabbage soup): can be eaten cold, sort of like a Russian gazpacho (OK, I made that up, but it makes sense, really!).
  • Salad dressing: Mustard and roasted garlic dressing


If you’d like to place an order, just let me know.

Leave a comment